|Hillsborough||town and county seat, central Orange County on Eno River. Alt. 543. John Lawson visited the Indian town of Occaneechi there, 1701. Appears on the Moseley map, 1733. In 1754 the site came to be known as Corbinton for Francis Corbin, colonial official. Est. as Childsburgh, 1759, in honor of Thomas Childs, attorney general of the province. Name changed to Hillsborough in 1766 in honor of Wills Hill, Earl of Hillsborough (1718-93), president of the Board of Trade and Plantations, and secretary of state for the colonies. The spelling later changed unofficially to Hillsboro, but the original spelling was restored in 1965. The legislature met there in 1778 and 1782-84.|
|Hillsborough District||was composed of Caswell, Chatham, Granville, Orange, Randolph, and Wake Counties at the time of the 1790 census.|
|Hillsborough Lake||See Ben Johnson Lake.|
|Hillsborough Township||central Orange County.|
|West Hillsborough||unincorporated outskirts of town of Hillsborough, central Orange County.|
This content is from the North Carolina Gazetteer, edited by William S. Powell and Michael Hill. Copyright © 2010 by the University of North Carolina Press. Used by permission of the publisher. For personal use and not for further distribution. Please submit permission requests for other use directly to the publisher.
Have a comment about the North Carolina Gazetteer? Tell us! Send NCpedia staff a message.