|East Lumberton||former town in E central Robeson County. Inc. 1901. Charter repealed 1953. Now a part of Lumberton. Was a mill-owned village until 1950, when houses were sold to individuals.|
|Lumberton||city and county seat, E central Robeson County on Lumber River. Alt. 137. Inc. 1788. Laid out on Red Bluff Plantation, owned by John Willis. Named for Lumber River. East Lumberton and West Lumberton, which see, formerly inc. municipalities, were made a part of the city of Lumberton in 1953.|
|Lumberton Township||E central Robeson County.|
|North Lumberton||former town in E central Robeson County. Inc. 1911. Charter repealed 1953. Now a part of Lumberton. Was a mill-owned village (Jennings Cotton Mills) until 1949-50, when houses were sold to individuals.|
This content is from the North Carolina Gazetteer, edited by William S. Powell and Michael Hill. Copyright © 2010 by the University of North Carolina Press. Used by permission of the publisher. For personal use and not for further distribution. Please submit permission requests for other use directly to the publisher.
Have a comment about the North Carolina Gazetteer? Tell us! Send NCpedia staff a message.